NEATA – North European


NEATA – North European Amateur Theatre Alliance

Represented on the AITA/IATA Council by Sofia Wegelius from Finland.

NEATA is the representative body for amateur theatre in the Nordic and Baltic states.

NEATA Members are:
Denmark, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Sweden

Established in Harstad, Norway, on August 8, 1998, NEATA succeeded The Nordic Amateur Theatre Council (NAR), established in 1967, as the official Nordic regional committee of AITA/IATA.

Since its inception the main aims of NEATA have been:

  • to prioritise the facilitation of exchanges of amateur theatre groups and to establish networks between amateur theatre groups
  • to plan and implement shared educational projects, courses, workshops, and conferences
  • to establish a regular NEATA Regional Amateur Theatre Festival

Contact Information

NEATA President

Ms. Kristiina Oomer >
Estonia National Centre
Eesti Harrastusteatrite Liit
Vene 6, Tallinn 10123,
Telephone: +372 6 464 080
Fax. +372 6 313 596

Representative on AITA/IATA Council

Sofia Wegelius >
Finlands Svenska Ungdomsförbund
Georgsgatan 18
00120 Helsinki
Tel: +358 (0) 50 502 4280

<< To report an inaccuracy or omission on this page, please go here. >>