Nov 152017

ESCENAMATEUR organizes the 5th edition of the Amateur Theatre ESCENAMATEUR – Juan Mayorga Prize 2017. Among all the prizes, will be awarded the International Prize from the International University of La Rioja (UNIR) to the best international show. ESCENAMATEUR would like to receive a large number of proposals Continue reading »

Jul 182016

Dr Istvan Pinczes July 16The Rising Sun Gold and Silver Rays of the Order is one of the most cherished and honoured Japanese government awards and it has been bestowed on the Hungarian award winning theatre director Dr István Pinczés, teacher, translator and dramatist of the Csokonai Theatre Continue reading »

Apr 302016

Moore, Eva editFormer AITA/IATA asbl Executive Board Member (1991 – 2001) Eva Moore of Ontario Canada is to be honoured with the AACT Mort Clark International Achievement Award at an awards ceremony during the AACT New York Adventure 7 – 10 July 2016.

Eva Moore has been involved with community theatre all her life, Continue reading »

Jan 182016

In November we posted information about the ELLEN STEWART INTERNATIONAL AWARD, organised with the support of the International Theatre Institute (ITI).

The aim of this international award is to give recognition and support to artists. The organisers have announced the finalists (below) and the winner will be announced on 24 February 2016. Continue reading »

Apr 282015

Beverley Lord April 15aita/iata joins all AACT members to offer very warm congratulations to Beverly Lord for the honour she has received from the aita/iata National Centre AACT (American Association of Community Theatre). It is given to those members of AACT who have significantly contributed to the idea and ideal of community theatre over a period of years.

The press release with more information is HERE.

Secretariat aita/iata

Jun 052014
Kathleen Maldonado

Kathleen Maldonado

Kathie Maldonado of Alto is being honoured with the Mort Clark International Achievement Award from the American Association of Community Theatre (AACT). The award will be presented at an awards ceremony during the AACT International Theatre Festival (aactWorldFest 2014) in Venice, FL June 16 – 21, 2014. Continue reading »

Nov 282012
Norbert Radermacher awarded the Cross of Merit by the government of Lower Saxony

Norbert Radermacher awarded the Cross of Merit by the government of Lower Saxony

For his outstanding contributions to the Lower Saxon and German amateur theater and theater education, Norbert Radermacher was honored on 27 November 2012 with the Merit 1 Class of Lower Saxony’s at the state government guest house in Hanover. The aware was presented by the Minister for Science and Culture, Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka, on behalf of the Prime Minister David McAllister: this is a rare distinction and she outlined in her speech the range of his commitment to amateur theatre education.

All in aita/iata offer their congratulations to Norbert for this fine achievement.

For more information go to the BDAT website HERE.



Jun 102012

From Hungary to the international friends of Mr KOIZUMI Hiroshi, all over the world

On 29th June Mr. Koizumi will be awarded the “Knight’s Cross of the Hungarian Merit Order” which is the highest state decoration foreign citizens can get in Hungary. Over the years he has made 52 visits to Hungary and has created many international exchange programs.

The award will be given in Toyama by the Hungarian Ambassador. A short programme of poems and songs performed by the Players Studio Debrecen will celebrate this event.

Our Hungarian friends ask that you send Mr. Koizumi a letter of congratulation to make him even more happy and that you let all our iata/aita friend know about it.

Best regards to all of you:

Dr István Pinczes

(from Hungary)


Mar 192012

In August 2013, Mary Pears was elected to the aita/iata Council as the CEC Regional Representative and stood down as an aita/iata Ambassador. 

At the recent EB and Council meeting in Nancy, France, it was agreed that Honorary Ambassadors would be appointed who could represent President Merja Laaksovirta and the EB at AITA/IATA events.

It was with great pleasure that Paddy O’Dwyer and Mary Pears were appointed to this Honorary position. Their mandate will be for the period of the present AITA/IATA President and can be renewed by the new President in 2015. Continue reading »